You are currently browsing the category archive for the ‘Release’ category.

Yawning Gulf is Jack Ryder from Hove, UK. His self titled debut album Yawning Gulf‘ is a 15 track instrumental album recorded and mixed from a home studio, it is a 100 copy release, each CD case hand-finished.

album art

The music is refreshingly different to a lot of what is swirling into the music abyss at the moment. While an ocean of chillwave influenced scenesters are doing their best to live up to what the likes of Toro y Moi and co. have created Yawning Gulf has been working away creating a very unique musical journey of his own.

From simple guitar melodies that carry the stylings of a positive Elliott Smith through Japanese Forests to layer rich beach music that is a carried by a Pet Sounds influence. I really dig the subtle motifs that you hear left behind as the sounds fade out. A totally diverse album that feels as though it is almost autobiographical.

”A beautiful album of home-made instrumental ditties put together by Brighton producer/musician Jack Ryder. Using found sounds alongside ‘real’ instruments including piano & guitar, these are all relatively short pieces that bring to mind the heart-warming work of artists such as Tape or early Mum along with the playfulness of Hauschka. Much like the photo of a sun-kissed ranch in the middle of rolling hills & trees on the inside sleeve (taken by Ryder himself incidentally), these songs transport you somewhere well away from the hustle & bustle of the city to somewhere altogether more lovely. If you enjoy the sound experiments of any of the aforementioned, this is most definitely for you. Very highly recommended. Local” – Resident Records, Brighton.

You can buy the album HERE


In celebration of the release of Coma Cinema‘s album “Stoned Alone” [1st June] they have an amazing video for their track “Only“.

The record is released on cassette and as a digital download for $5 it’s a steal. Click the album art to buy it.

Coma Cinema – Only

The Teej – I Got Electrocuted 7 released on Make Mine is now available for pre-order at Rough Trade HERE.

Make Mine Mysapce

Teej Myspace

Lagoon – Right Now



The ‘Leave Everywhere‘ 7″ is due out on Carpark on 19th July 2010 (EU) 20th July (USA)

Ditching the “bedroom, iMac, MIDI controller, Reason” vibe and embracing Phil Spector tape saturation and echo chamber vibe. Even though I’m not a huge fan of Mark Ronson for obvious reasons [watch this], he did record some nice “vintage sounding” stuff (or should I say The Dap Kings did) following suit Chaz has nailed that sound on this new track.

Toro y Moi – Leave Everywhere

Amazon are ahead of the curve beating the blogs to announce the ‘Tomboy‘ release date of July 13th.

Amazon info:

Paw Tracks is excited to present the first in a series of limited edition seven inch singles by Animal Collective’s Panda Bear. There will be several limited singles total (on different labels), and each one will bring us closer and closer to the much anticipated release of the Tomboy full length.

[via Amazon]

Got a copy of the debut EP ‘Cliff‘ by Edmonton, Canada’s Kumon Plaza a couple of weeks ago on its release. The 7 track EP is essential 8-bit synth pop, but DO NOT FEAR! Although this “retro-fit” genre has become a common ground for anyone from your teenage neighbour with a cracked copy of fruityloops all the way to terrible bands such as Hadouken, what is abundantly different about Kumon Plaza to the prior mentioned “musicians” is he knows how to write music and he delicately constructs melodies into nostalgic synthetic instrumentation. His songs could easily be orchestrated for real instrumentation but what I really enjoyed about the EP was the depth to the structure played on simple sine waves and linndrum sounding rythmns layered with intricate samples that conjured up an compelling nostalgia. This one is not to be overlooked.


Kumon Plaza – Hans Kruger

We know recently we at UnderwaterTiger have been slightly AWOL but this should explain it all.

Teej (one half of UnderwaterTiger) has been working on a collection of new music.

Here is his brilliant ‘Thirst EP’

click image to download

Having locked himself away in a bunker in the snow in Hokkaido, Northern Japan over the winter he recently emerged all bleary eyed with his debut offering ‘Thirst EP‘.
It combines 2 of the main things that have made the UK the fine young swimmer she is today:

  • Glitchy drum programming and squelchy layered synths.
  • It sounds like a sun ravaged beach covered in snow.

The 4 track EP is available to download for free by clicking HERE.
There are 100 limited edition handmade CDRs available (with 1 exclusive bonus track) from HERE

Teej – Slow Motion Summit

New Here We Go Magic album out June 2010.

Get it here for free

Here We Go Magic – Collector

Via | Head Underwater (no relation, just an awesome blog)

Neon Indian

“I wanted to find some good channel to put out a single that can start hinting at where the next Neon Indian album will go”

According to Gorilla Vs Bear the single was co-produced by PalomoChris Taylor of Grizzly Bear.

It sounds great and Mountain Dew tates great…. mmmmm the Pepsi Co.

Neon Indian – “Sleep Paralysist”



Underwater Calendar

March 2019
« Jun    

Underwater Categories

Underwater Archive