I was looking around for some new music that might blow me away and I found it, it’s called Candy Claws. As if by magic (or Physics and Magic as they describe themselves) they are exactly what I was looking for, even though I wasn’t sure what I was looking for….

….makes sense?

Candy Claws

Candy Claws

Their album “In the Dream of the Sea Life” is a musical companion to Rachel Carson’s 1951 book, “The Sea Around Us”. The album fuses together the feels style of writing Brian Wilson used on “Smile” with swirling sea sounds you might hear on a Here We Go Magic mid-album track. The whole album carries a warm noise to it and deep textures, they sampled the ocean all over the world from Italy to the Philippines. The songs off the record all sound as if they are different places, very much like Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue”, it is cohesive and feels like a journey. Fantastic!

CandyClawsinthedreamofthesealife

Candy Claws – Island Grows (off the album In the Dream of the Sea Life)

